An open letter to the Muse

Dear Muse,

I missed you today! What happened? I thought we had an appointment, but maybe I’m mistaken? I thought we were going to meet at that little café up the road and around the corner? You know the one. The place with the house made coconut milk and gluten free bikkies you like so much.

Not to press the matter…but I waited for you… There. In the café – alone – for over two hours and you never showed! You didn’t even send a bloody text!

Even though YOU didn’t show up, I did. Muse.

I showed up and I sat in front of OUR project all morning. While you have offered a few brilliant – inspired even! – suggestions, I need to be honest: I feel like I’ve been hauling this ship along all on my own.

I’m the one that’s been flipping open the laptop, clicking on the word file and doing the work.

I’m the one that did the outline; I’m the one that typed up the 80,000 words; and I’m the one left with this stinker of a first draft! Geez…I wonder who will do the editing?
Cough, cough, **ME**

You flitter in and out whenever you please – regardless of the schedule. Do you remember the schedule: the timetable showing our progress and our future aims? I printed and laminated that sucker just for you! So you could stick it on your mystical fridge. So you’d have to look at it as you made your mystical breakfast with your mystical frickin’ eggs and mystical frickin’ gluten free bread!

Look, I’m sorry. I got out of line there.

Yes, I know.

You’re busy.

You’re an entrepreneur now.

I know I need to be more understanding. It’s not just you and me anymore. You have a whole league of artists, writers, bloggers and vloggers to tend to. You would think with all this blasted technology around we’d have more time – not less! But I digress.

And look – I have my own part to play, and I’d like to apologies for the other day.

In my defense we didn’t have any appointment – you just showed up. Uninvited! Out of the blue and into my heart! Too much? Dang it. Anyway, what I am trying to say, Muse, is I’ve been working really hard and you just happened to walk in the one time – the one time – I was goofing off. I’m allowed to watch cat videos on YouTube too ya know!

Not to nitpick, but we started this project together and now you seem to have lost interest.

But I’m not a quitter— like some—Muse. I am sticking with this project. I will see it through to the end – without or without you! (God I hate U2).

Signed yours unfaithfully,

Tara

P.S I’ve attached the third draft of chapter one. Let me know what ya think xx

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

